Wednesday, December 14, 2011

Howden Makes Team Canada

Moose Jaw Warrior Quinton Howden will get another chance to live his dream of singing our national anthem at the World Juniors.

Despite suffering what was called "concussion like symptoms" in an intrasquad game Monday, Howden was one of several WHL players to crack Canada's final roster for this year's World Junior Hockey Championships.

Howden is one of four returning players from last year's team that took home silver after a crushing loss to Russia in the gold medal game.

Two other players have tight connections to southern Saskatchewan. Defenceman Ryan Murray who plays for the Everett Silvertips is a former AAA Warrior, and Wilcox's Jaden Schwartz also made the team. This is Murray's first time at the tournament, while Schwartz is making his second trip.

Other WHL players to make team Canada are Edmonton's Mark Pysyk, Vancouver's Brendan Gallagher, and Brandon's Mark Stone. Former Prince George Cougar Brett Connolly, who's on loan from the NHL's Tampa Bay Lightning, also made the team.

WHL players who were cut are Tyler Bunz (Medicine Hat), Alex Petrovic (Red Deer), Brett Bulmer (Kelowna), Joe Morrow (Portland), Ty Rattie (Portland), and Brad Ross (Portland).

The team will be officially introduced to the nation later today, they'll now get ready for three exhibition games, the first coming on the 19th against Finland.

Canada and Finland will battle again on Boxing Day in the tournament opener. Follow Howden and team Canada throughout the World Junior Hockey Championships on Country 100, as we'll broadcast their games as they climb back to the top of the World Junior mountain.

Listed below is team Canada's roster, along with their current teams.

Mark Visentin, Niagara (OHL) ** returning player **
Scott Wedgewood, Plymouth (OHL)

Nathan Beaulieu, Saint John (QMJHL)
Brandon Gormley, Moncton (QMJHL)
Dougie Hamilton, Niagra (OHL)
Scott Harrington, London (OHL)
Ryan Murray, Everett (WHL)
Jamie Oleksiak, Saginaw (OHL)
Mark Pysyk, Edmonton (WHL)

Michael Bournival, Shawinigan (QMJHL)
Brett Connolly, Tampa Bay (NHL) ** returning player **
Brendan Gallagher, Vancouver (WHL)
Freddie Hamilton, Niagara (OHL)
Quinton Howden, Moose Jaw (WHL) ** returning player **
Jonathan Huberdeau, Saint John (QMJHL)
Boone Jenner, Oshawa (OHL)
Tanner Pearson, Barrie (OHL)
Mark Scheifele, Barrie (OHL)
Jaden Schwartz, Colorado College (WCHA) ** returning player **
Devante Smith-Pelly, Anaheim (NHL)
Mark Stone, Brandon (WHL)
Ryan Strome, Niagara (OHL)

No comments:

Post a Comment