Wednesday, May 4, 2011

Edwards Up for Humanitarian of the Year at WHL Awards Today

The 2011 WHL Awards Luncheon is Wednesday, May 4th as the WHL prepares to honor the best of the 2010-11 regular season.   For the first time ever, both of the WHL annual events will be available, free of charge, via LIVE webcast available at .

The entire 2011 WHL Awards Luncheon, which is hosted by Rogers Sportsnet's Peter Loubardias, will be available via webcast, while the first round of the 2011 WHL Bantam Draft will be streamed online, hosted by Shaw TV's Joey Kenward.

Best of luck to our very own Spencer Edwards today! Follow along online:

LIVE Webcasts
WHL Awards Luncheon - Wednesday, May 4 - 12:00pm MT
WHL Bantam Draft - Thursday, May 5 - 8:30am MT

The WHL Awards Luncheon, held annually to recognize the WHL’s best performers, will be held in Calgary, AB, in the Palomino Room at the BMO Centre on Wednesday, May 4th.
The list of nominees for the 2011 WHL Awards includes many worthy candidates who enjoyed outstanding performances throughout the 2010-11 WHL regular season, including the two finalists for the Four Broncos Memorial Trophy, given to the WHL’s Player of the Year

The WHL Eastern Conference finalist is goaltender Darcy Kuemper of the Red Deer Rebels, while the WHL Western Conference finalist is forward Tyler Johnson of the Spokane Chiefs.
Kuemper enjoyed truly dominant campaign for the Red Deer Rebels, leading all WHL goaltenders in every major statistical category.  The 20-year-old from Saskatoon, SK, appeared in 62 games for the Rebels, posting a 45-12-3-2 record to go with a 1.86 goals-against average and a .933 save percentage to lead the Rebels to the Central Division title.  Kuemper tied a WHL single-season record by posting 13 shutouts during the regular season.

Johnson also enjoyed a terrific season for the Spokane Chiefs, leading all WHL players with 53 goals and finishing second in League scoring with 115 points in 71 games as the Chiefs posted a 48-18-4-2 record and a second-place finish in the U.S. Division.  The Husky WHL Player of the Month for December, Johnson recorded at least a point in 57 of the 71 games he played and was one of just two players to crack the 50-goal mark this season..

Among other 2011 WHL Awards nominees are the two finalists Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy for the WHL Rookie of the Year. 16-year-old Matt Dumba of the Red Deer Rebels will look to follow Ryan Nugent-Hopkins in 2010 and become the second consecutive Rebel to win the award, while Portland Winterhawks’ 17-year-old Swiss star Sven Bartschi will try and cap an outstanding first year in the WHL with the Jim Piggott Memorial trophy.

The 2011 WHL Awards Luncheon will also see the presentation of the Bob Clarke Trophy for the WHL’s regular-season scoring leader to Medicine Hat Tigers star Linden Vey.  The Wakaw, SK, product and Los Angeles Kings prospect led the WHL in scoring with 116 points on 46 goals and 70 assists in 69 games during the 2010-11 WHL regular season, and became the first member of the Tigers to claim the WHL scoring title since Tom Lysiak accomplished the feat in back-to-back seasons in 1971-72 and ‘72-73.
Over the years, the WHL has presented awards to many players who have gone on to stardom in the NHL and in international play.

Past winners of the Four Broncos Memorial Trophy include current NHL stars Cam Ward (Red Deer Rebels, 2003-04), Dan Hamhuis (Prince George Cougars, 2001-02) and Jarome Iginla (Kamloops Blazers, 1995-96), and NHL legends such as Joe Sakic (Swift Current Broncos, 1986-87 & 1987-88), Mike Vernon (Calgary Wranglers, 1981-82 & 1982-83), Bryan Trottier (Lethbridge Broncos, 1974-75) and Bobby Clarke (Flin Flon Bombers, 1968-69).  Last year’s winner, Jordan Eberle of the Regina Pats, just finished his rookie season in the NHL with the Edmonton Oilers.

No comments:

Post a Comment