Thursday, March 24, 2011

Warriors Pack Up the Bus for Games 1&2

The Warriors will start their playoff journey today as they travel to Cranbrook, BC. Here is a game preview...

Moose Jaw Warriors 2010-2011 Regular Season Wrap up
The Moose Jaw Warriors finished the regular season with a 40-26-2-4 record, which landed them second in the East Division and 5th in the Eastern Conference. By winning 40 games, that marks just the third time in franchise history that they’ve achieved that milestone. They were 22-12-0-2 at home and 18-14-2-2 on the road. They were 23-11-2-2 against the East Division; 10-12-0-2 against the Central Division; 4-1 against the BC Division; and 3-2 against the US Division. They were 14-4-2-4 in “1 goal games”, 11-5 in “2 goal games”, 10-10 in “3 goal games”, and 5-7 in “4+ goal games”.

Dylan Hood led the team with 50 assists, 14 power play goals, and 83 points; Quinton Howden led the team with 40 goals and six game winning goals; Cody Beach led the team with 236 penalty minutes; Captain Spencer Edwards was the team leader with a +24 rating and four shorthanded goals; Collin Bowman was the led all defenseman with 48 points, and was the team leader with 22 power play assists; Morgan Rielly was the rookie scoring leader with 28 points; Thomas Heemskerk finished the year with a 36-21-2-4 record with a 2.94gaa and .908sv%.

Regular Season Award Winners
The Moose Jaw Warriors handed out their regular season awards March 18th before the final regular season home game inside the Civic Centre. Quinton Howden and Thomas Heemskerk shared MVP honours; Howden also won the Molson Cup, which is determined by points awarded through each home game’s three stars; Captain Spencer Edwards was named Fan’s Choice, Humanitarian, and Mark MacKay Hustle awards; rookie Sam Fioretti was named Most Sportsmanlike and Scholastic Player of the year; Kendall McFaull was named Unsung Hero; Most Improved went to rookie Joel Edmundson; Dylan Hood’s 83 points captured him the Top Scorer; Collin Bowman was named the Best Defensive Player; Morgan Rielly was named Rookie of the year.

v. Opponent
The Moose Jaw Warriors and Kootenay Ice split their regular season series. Home ice played a big role during the regular season, as the road team went 0-4. Moose Jaw won the games inside the Civic Centre by a combined score of 12-7, while Kootenay won the games in Cranbrook by a combined score of 8-2.

Dylan Hood led the Warriors with three goals and seven points against Kootenay; Spencer Edwards had three goals and six points; Quinton Howden had two goals and five points; Collin Bowman had two goals and four points; Antonin Honejsek had a goal and three points; Cody Beach and Sam Fioretti had three assists each; Dallas Ehrhardt and Dylan McIlrath had two assists each; four players recorded one assist; Thomas Heemskerk was 1-2 with a 3.32gaa and .911sv%; Brandon Stone was 1-0 with a 4.47gaa and .786sv%.
Cody Eakin led Kootenay with three goals and eight points against the Warriors (2-2-4pts w/ SC); Joe Antilla had two goals and six points; Matt Fraser had two goals and five points; Elgin Pearce had three goals and four points; Brayden McNabb had two goals and four points; Jesse Ismond had four assists; Kevin King and Max Reinhart had two goals and three points each; Joey Leach had two assists; six players recorded one point; Nathan Lieuwen was 1-1 with a 4.89gaa and .857sv%; Brett Teskey was 1-1 with a 1.73gaa and .929sv%.

Past Playoff Appearances
The last meeting between the Warriors and Kootenay Ice in the post season was back in the 2001 playoffs. The Ice swept the Warriors in four straight games.
Brian Sutherby led the Warriors with two goals and three points; Steven Crampton and Nathan Paetsch had a goal and three points each; Shawn Limpright and Jarrett Thompson had one goal each; five players recorded one assist; Tim Barlow was 0-4 with a 5.55gaa and .854sv%.
Zdenek Blatny led the Ice with six goals and 12 points against the Warriors; Bret DeCecco had three goals and 11 points; Jarrett Stoll had three goals and nine points; Jason Jaffray had five goals and seven points; Cole Fischer had two goals and six points; Aaron Rome had a goal and four points; Marek Svatos had a goal and three points; Trevor Johnson and Colin Sinclair had three assists each; Dan Blackburn was 4-0 with a 1.53gaa and .957sv%.

Playoff Schedule, times local to Moose Jaw
Game 2; Saturday, March 26th @ Kootenay, 7pm
Game 3; Tuesday, March 29th v Kootenay, 7pm
Game 4; Wednesday, March 30th v Kootenay, 7pm
Game 5; Friday, April 1st @ Kootenay, 7pm ** if necessary ***
Game 6; Sunday, April 3rd v Kootenay, 7pm ** if necessary ***Game 7; Tuesday, April 5th @ Kootenay, 7pm *

No comments:

Post a Comment