Thursday, March 24, 2011

Edwards and Howden Recognized

Calgary, AB - The Western Hockey League announced today the 2010-11 WHL Conference First and Second All-Star Teams and the Conference Finalists for the 2011 WHL Awards. The WHL Player of the Year finalists will be announced on Wednesday, April 20th, 2011.

The winners of these awards along with the WHL Player of the Year will be announced at the 2011 WHL Awards Luncheon in Calgary, Alberta on Wednesday, May 4th, 2011.The WHL announced the Finalists in the following categories.

WHL Rookie of the Year, Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy Eastern Conference – Matt Dumba (Calgary, AB), Red Deer Rebels

Western Conference – Sven Bartschi (Langenthal, SUI), Portland WinterhawksWHL Goaltender of the Year, Del Wilson TrophyEastern Conference – Darcy Kuemper (Saskatoon, SK), Red Deer Rebels

Western Conference – James Reid (Calgary, AB), Spokane ChiefsWHL Defenceman of the Year, Bill Hunter Memorial TrophyEastern Conference – Stefan Elliott (North Vancouver, BC), Saskatoon Blades

Western Conference – Tyson Barrie (Victoria, BC), Kelowna RocketsWHL Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year, Brad Hornung Trophy

Eastern Conference – Stefan Elliott (North Vancouver, BC), Saskatoon BladesWestern Conference – Tyler Johnson (Spokane, WA), Spokane Chiefs

WHL Scholastic Player of the Year, Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Adam Lowry (Calgary, AB), Swift Current Broncos
Western Conference – Colin Smith (Edmonton, AB), Kamloops Blazers

WHL Coach of the Year, Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Jesse Wallin, Red Deer Rebels
Western Conference – Don Nachbaur, Spokane ChiefsWHL Executive of the Year,

Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Lorne Molleken, Saskatoon BladesWestern Conference – Mike Johnston, Portland Winterhawks

WHL Humanitarian of the Year, Doug Wickenheiser Memorial TrophyEastern Conference – Spencer Edwards (Coquitlam, BC), Moose Jaw Warriors
Western Conference – Jeff Einhorn (Red Deer, AB), Chilliwack Bruins

WHL Marketing / Public Relations Award
Eastern Conference – Calgary Hitmen, Mike Moore
Western Conference – Tri-City Americans, Brian Sandy

WHL Regular Season Champions, Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy
Saskatoon Blades: GP – 72 W – 56 L – 13 OTL – 1 SL – 2 Pts – 115

The WHL Eastern and Western Conference All-Star Teams are as follows:

FIRST ALL-STAR TEAMGoaltender – Darcy Kuemper (Saskatoon, SK), Red Deer Rebels*Defenceman – Stefan Elliott (North Vancouver, BC), Saskatoon Blades*Defenceman – Brayden McNabb (Davidson, SK), Kootenay Ice*Forward – Linden Vey (Wakaw, SK), Medicine Hat Tigers*Forward – Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (Burnaby, BC), Red Deer RebelsForward – Mark Stone (Winnipeg, MB), Brandon Wheat Kings

Goaltender – Tyler Bunz (St. Albert, AB), Medicine Hat TigersDefenceman – Alex Petrovic (Edmonton, AB), Red Deer RebelsDefenceman – Duncan Siemens (Sherwood Park, AB), Saskatoon BladesForward – Cody Eakin (Winnipeg, MB), Kootenay Ice Forward – Brayden Schenn (Saskatoon, SK), Saskatoon BladesForward – Quinton Howden (Oak Bank, MB), Moose Jaw WarriorsWHL

Goaltender – James Reid (Calgary, AB), Spokane ChiefsDefenceman – Tyson Barrie (Victoria, BC), Kelowna RocketsDefenceman – Jared Cowen (Allan, SK), Spokane ChiefsForward – Brendan Gallagher (Delta, BC), Vancouver GiantsForward – Tyler Johnson (Spokane, WA), Spokane ChiefsForward – Ryan Johansen (Port Moody, BC), Portland Winterhawks

Goaltender – Calvin Pickard (Winnipeg, MB), Seattle ThunderbirdsDefenceman – Brenden Kichton (Spruce Grove, AB), Spokane ChiefsDefenceman – Ryan Murray (White City, SK), Everett SilvertipsForward – Brendan Shinnimin (Winnipeg, MB), Tri-City AmericansForward – Brendan Ranford (Edmonton, AB), Kamloops BlazersForward – Ryan Howse (Prince George, BC), Chilliwack Bruins

No comments:

Post a Comment